Healthy Toddler Snacks | Personal

Everyone wants a healthy toddler, but some days it seems impossible. Veggies & toddlers are not always the best combination. I’m pretty lucky that my little guy is willing to eat his share of vegetables most days.  This week, however, has been a struggle.  It might have to do with those birthday cupcakes we gave him…hmmm… 😉

I had been Pinteresting ideas on how to get toddlers to eat veggies and came across several recipes for smoothies.  They sounded ok, but had a lot of ingredients that I didn’t have.  And even though Wegmans is wonderful, I didn’t want to make a second trip back there this week.  So I made my own with what I had in the fridge.  Below are the 2 recipes that I came up with (and were more than toddler approved!)

Spinach & Fruit Smoothie- 1 large handful of baby spinach (fresh)
– 1 tablespoon of plain yogurt (you can use flavored!)
– Splash of OJ
– Splash of Milk
– 2 slices of pears
– 3 tablespoons of Wegmans frozen berries (strawberries, blackberries, raspberries)

veggie smoothie
Blend it all together and stick in a fun straw!  Aaron drank it up happily.  This made about 1.5 pints (he drank about .5 pint) and got his filling of goodness. YUM.

Carrot, Apple & Orange Smoothie
– 2 slices of apple (skin on)
– 8 baby carrots (boiled)
– 3-4 tablespoons of OJ
– 1 tablespoon of strawberry yogurt
– 3 slices of pears
– 1 large handful of baby spinach (fresh)
– Splash of Milk

veggie smoothie

This was my favorite despite the green-ness!  You might want to add some honey if it isn’t sweet enough for you.  It made 1 pint and Aaron drank the WHOLE THING! YAHOO!

healthy toddler

Obviously I don’t recommend using trickery as a way to get daily veggies, but on those tough days I’d rather give him a healthy treat than tough it out with him.  Because you know who will win 🙂

I LOVE hearing about different ways moms get their little ones to eat healthy so please share your recipe in the comments!

Leave a Reply

